• The Retrofit Academy Awards

    In 2022, we launched the first-ever Retrofit Academy Awards. This page gives you an overview of what the awards are about, why we decided to start them, and who were the winners, and shortlisted people and projects were, in our launch year.

    If you would like to get involved in 2023’s awards, please complete this short form to express your interest. We will then share all of the details with you as soon as they are released in early Autumn 2022.

    Read more about TRA Awards and Futurebuild 2022, in our featured blog post.

  • Welcome to the inaugural Retrofit Academy Awards 2022

    The Retrofit Academy Awards 2022 will recognise excellence in retrofitting across the market, from Retrofit Coordinators, to installers, social landlords and individual projects. We will also recognise the Rising Stars in this exciting, vibrant market, at a crucially important time for our industry.

    The awards will be presented at one of the biggest events of the year for professionals in the built environment, Futurebuild 2022 at London’s ExCel on Tuesday 1 March 2022 and are free to attend with informal attire welcome.

    *In the event that Futurebuild cannot go ahead this year, we will be taking The Retrofit Academy Awards online*

    We want to recognise hard work and dedication to outstanding retrofitting projects across the UK, of which there have been many.

    “Winning one of these awards will identify the best our industry has to offer. They recognise excellence across the twin challenges of increasing the quality and the scale of retrofit in the UK. They will identify the leading professionals making their mark in the PAS 2035 era – and the projects that demonstrate that good practice and good value are not mutually exclusive.”

    David Pierpoint, CEO

    The closing date has now passed for this year’s awards.

    Please follow #TRAawards2022 on our social media channels.

Our Shortlists

Retrofit Coordinator of the Year


Geordie Stewart
Cosy Homes
Ashley Crawford
CC Ltd
Craig Wright
Madison May

Sponsored by The Greater South East Energy Hub

More Information

Retrofit Assessor of the Year


Jarrod Green
Bryan Simpson
Keegans Group
Kevin Nicholson

More Information

Retrofit Installer of the Year


Bow Tie Construction
Procast Group

More Information

Retrofit Small Project of the Year


Prewett Bizley Architects
Beattie Passive
Northern Ireland Housing Executive
Derbyshire Dales District Council

More Information

Retrofit Large Project of the Year


Melius Homes
Rothwell Group
United Living
City Energy

More Information

Retrofit Landlord of the Year


Northampton Partnership Homes
North Glasgow Homes
Renfrewshire Council
Northwards Housing
Flagship Housing Group

More Information

Retrofit Rising Star of the Year


Nathan Beattie
Beattie Passive
Gemma Sutherland
Barbara Lantschner
John Gilbert Architects

More Information

Meet the Judges

Our prestigious panel of judges represent many decades of experience in the built environment, including all disciplines of retrofitting to the highest British standards. They are looking for excellence in service, consistent delivery of high-quality work in your chosen field, and a proven commitment to PAS 2035 principles.

Peter Rickaby
The Retrofit Academy

One of the technical authors of PAS 2035, Peter is a leading authority on retrofit. A pivotal member of the Academy team, Peter’s skills are put to use across the core Academy functions including education and policy.

Sally Hancox
The Retrofit Academy

Sally has over 30 years of experience in the housing sector, having led Gentoo Green from 2007 – 2016, Sally guided the installation of Solar PV to over 6,000 homes across the North East. Sally was awarded an MBE in 2012 for her dedication to housing.

Alan Pither
The Retrofit Academy

Alan has steered energy efficiency policy since 1985. A regular on the retrofit education and seminar circuit, Alan continues to guide the next generation of retrofit professionals for BRE and The Retrofit Academy.

David Adams
Building Performance Network

David delivered the first Energiesprong retrofits in the UK and multiple social housing retrofit programmes as well as low energy new build. He combines the practical with policy development via engagement with BEIS and through BPN and EEIG.

Emily Braham

Emily is Director at Energiesprong UK. She has a Masters in delivering area-based retrofit, achieved while delivering one of the UK’s largest cross tenure retrofit schemes. Her experience includes delivering the first Energiesprong UK pilot and REMOURBAN Lighthouse City project.

Catrin Maby
British Standards Institute

Dr Catrin Maby OBE is an independent consultant with over 30 years experience in improving energy efficiency and reducing the impact of fuel poverty. A sustainability aficionado, Catrin was awarded an OBE for her contribution to the environment in 2012.

T: 0330 055 7629
E: info@retrofitacademy.org
A: Barn 4, Dunston Business Village,
Stafford Road, Stafford, ST18 9AB

Terms & Conditions 
Policies & Procedures

Copyright © 2022 The Retrofit Academy. All rights reserved

Website by
Fill out the form below to download the guides